Learning to Say “No”

1798 Stop in Your Tracks
My son says I’m too nice. That’s part of my problem. I want to help out others and have a hard time saying, “no.” Last night I did say “no” and still feel bad about it. It’s a project that I’ve done for a few years off and on (the layout of an event program book).  I enjoy doing the layout and am proud to be able to do a good job with it, but the job also comes with frustrations. One of the biggest issues is the stress that grows as I have less and less time to work on it as I’d like.

I’d really like to help out but know that it would not be good for me in the long run. I wish I had the time and resources to be able to volunteer my time for many organizations. Since I don’t, I have to say no to some of them, even though I’d enjoy the work. I think most of us have a part of us that wants to please others. We feel good if we’re able to help someone out. Volunteering our time can do as much for us as it does for the recipient, unless it gets to be a burden. So we have learn when to draw the line.
The photo above was taken a few years ago near my work. The stop sign had been planted in the middle of some unused railroad tracks. I’m sure it was a warning in case a train accidentally ended up on those tracks. Notice the tracks behind the sign.

2 Comments

Filed under Miscellany, Something Interesting I Saw, Uncategorized, Walk

2 responses to “Learning to Say “No”

  1. Jenn

    Over the next few years I have a feeling you’ll be saying “NO” more as your time will be taken up by grandchildren and you kids and kids-in-laws. LOL…. I see a credit card with frequent flyer miles in your future. 🙂

  2. cataclog

    Yep. Priorities change.

Leave a Reply

