Fire Arts Festival in Oakland

Epiphany by Dan Das Mann and Karen Cusolito at the Crucibles Fire Arts Festival

Epiphany by Dan Das Mann and Karen Cusolito at the Crucible's Fire Arts Festival

My son and I attended The Crucible’s Fire Arts Festival in Oakland a little over a week ago. It was a bit pricey, but we felt the money went towards a good cause. The Crucible sponsors classes and shows in many fire-related arts and you can learn more about them here.

I wasn’t sure what to expect. We bought our tickets and waited in a long line to get in. I was feeling depressed because I’d seen a sign about no photography. What?!? That’s why I came! After several minutes of feeling rather disgruntled, I finally asked in the media tent and learned that all I had to do was sign a use agreement and then I could shoot pictures. Whew!

There was a lot going on at the festival and we didn’t get to see it all. There were huge sculptures that breathed fire, live entertainment, crafts for sale, a life size mousetrap (remember the kid’s board game?), a flamethrower shooting gallery (that’s probably what enticed my son to this more than anything), displays, and demonstrations. Many of the scupltures were interactive, which added to the fun of it all. I thought we might stay a couple of hours, especially since I was expecting a very long day the next day, but we kept finding fascinating things and hung around until 11:00. The Fire Vortex (by Nate Smith) was the coolest, er… hottest thing we saw.

Fire Vortex by Nate Smith

Fire Vortex by Nate Smith

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellany, Photography

Leave a Reply

