SoFoBoMo Progress

 

Dance Studio

Dance Studio

I’m a little over half way through my SoFoBoMo month, having started on May 11. My project is to make a book of photos of the people in my clogging dance groups. Here’s more about my project and the SoFoBoMo idea. This past weekend I processed quite a few photos that I’d taken of my dancers and put them online for them (only) to see. I just did a tally of the number of photos I’ve taken and worked on so far. I’ve shot a total of 777 pictures of my dancers over seven days of dancing. Of those, 338 made the first cut. Of those, I’ve selected 135 to consider for the final book. The final count will be much less than that, although I have no idea how many I’ll end up with at this point.

I’ve learned a few things from this process so far. First, I’ve realized that it’s really difficult to teach a class AND shoot photos. I have to either put on music with cues for them to dance to or shoot lost of photos during the breaks. Both of these require much patience from my dancers. I’m either poking a camera (and sometimes a flash) in their faces while they’re trying to follow the dance or I reduce their dance time by taking extended breaks so I can shoot. I’ve got to give my dancers a huge amount of appreciation for not only putting up with me, but cooperating and (often) smiling for the camera. I only hope that I will be able to show them all in their best light. They’re a great group of people.

One other thing that I’ve realized is that by picking this subject, I’ve limited myself to being able to shoot only a few days during the month. My clubs dance on Monday and Wednesday evenings, and my performance team meets (at best) twice a month. Since last week was the Memorial Day holiday, I felt I was cheated out of a night of shooting. Other things have happened (besides my camera dying). Last Wednesday when we got to the school we found out the power was out so we couldn’t use the room. Although we tried to contact people, some were already on the way and showed up. Since we weren’t dancing, I took the opportunity to do more shooting. At least it gave me some nice shots in better light than there is indoors.

My last thought at this point is that several of my dancers are missing from the pictures I’ve taken so far and I don’t want to leave anyone out. That might be unavoidable, but I’m going to do my best to include as many as possible.

Now, I really need to start working on the book layout. That’s what I’ll concentrate on this week (and keep taking pictures, of course).

Leave a comment

Filed under Clogging, Photography, SoFoBoMo

Leave a Reply

