SoFoBoMo

This refers to a project I’m doing during May (and into June a bit), along with several other photographers online. The name stands for “Solo Photo Book in a Month” and you can learn more about it here. I decided to participate this year and do something different… for me anyway. I usually take nature or travel photos, but doing a project is a chance to push myself and learn something new. Since I teach clogging (learn more about that here), I decided to make a book of photographs of my dancers. When looking at photos I’ve taken at clogging events, I always enjoyed the closeup shots of the dancers the most, so that’s what I want to do more of. However, shooting portraits and candids of people is not in my comfort zone, so I’ve been cramming and learning about techniques.

I started shooting the project on May 11. My dancers are being very cooperative so far. I’ve promised them I won’t publish anything that they don’t want published and they know this is just for one month (well, until the next project!) The goal is to create a pdf of a photo book by the end of the 31 days. If it turns out as I hope it will, then I’ll also make it into a real, hold-in-your-hands book. Stay tuned for more updates.

1 Comment

Filed under Clogging, Photography, SoFoBoMo

One response to “SoFoBoMo

  1. Pingback: SoFoBoMo Progress « Cat-A-Clog

Leave a Reply

